Group Meditation in Buenos Aires

Meditating While Traveling

Ever since I started meditating regularly a couple years ago, I always find myself looking to this activity for a break from the craziness of life. Although I’m not currently working at a full time job, I still find that meditation is just as important while traveling. If nothing else, meditation makes you stop for a second and live in the present moment, which something useful to do when you’re traveling and want to enjoy the place in which you find yourself or when things aren’t going quite as well as you wished they had.

I had fallen out of the habit of regular meditation while I was in Seville, so I was determined to be much more diligent when I arrived in Buenos Aires. One of my first goals was to find a place that hosted group meditation sessions. Although it doesn’t substitute for having a personal practice at home, I find group meditation to be really encouraging for keeping up with my own practice, and I enjoy the good energy I feel from sharing this activity with others.

I’ve tried three meditation centers here in Buenos Aires (details at the bottom of the post for those who want more information). They’ve all been different in their own way, but the people are, as always, extremely friendly and caring. My favorite, and the one I’ve been going to the most, is located just a 15 minute walk away from where I am staying and has introduced me to a new kind of meditation that I’m surprised to find myself enjoying.    

This giant metal flower (Floralis Generica) in Plaza de las Naciones Unidas opens and closes with the rising and setting of the sun.

Hastinapura Meditation Center in Villa Crespo

Going to Hastinapura for their Thursday evening “Meditation on the Monosyllable Om” was my first time doing a meditation solely with the use of a mantra. Aside from a little talking at the beginning and end of the session, the majority of our time was spent repeating “Om” as a group on the exhale of every breath.

At first I found myself wondering how long it would last, impatiently wanting it to be over just after it began, but after awhile it became sort of relaxing, and the sound echoing through my body became a comfort. I have to admit I was a little skeptical of this kind of meditation before doing it, because it is definitely the ultimate of all stereotypes for meditation, but now I understand why people do it. Hearing the sound over and over again has a calming effect that sort of numbs your brain and your body – it left me with a feeling of calmness.

The number of participants at Hastinapura is always small, only two or three of us plus the facilitator, but the intimacy of the group, along with the warmth of the room, the dim lighting, the cushions, and the décor make the place feel very cozy. The guy leading the meditation is equally as calm and comforting as the meditation itself.

There is a similar meditation group that has started on Tuesday evenings as well; this one is led by a genuinely caring woman who likes to sing. In addition to meditating with “Om”, she leads us in in short songs or in chanting other mantras. She usually shares a brief story or writing about meditation at beginning of the session, and although she speaks Spanish with a little bit of a Russian accent, she reads and speaks slowly, so I understand a lot of what she says. As with the Thursday group, there are usually only a couple of us in attendance. There is one man who has consistently shown up almost every time that I am there. I have trouble understanding what he says in Spanish, but he’s always friendly and hugs every one. It’s nice to see familiar faces every week – one thing I haven’t done very well in Buenos Aires is meeting people.

I’m not sure what the overarching belief and teaching of this foundation is, but the meditation classes I’ve attended have not been particularly religion focused. The sessions are about putting the meditation methods to practice, not about teaching a religious doctrine. I really appreciate this kind of nonsectarian environment because meditation is something that everyone can experience and enjoy regardless of religious belief. There is no cost for any of the meditation sessions – all they ask is that participants bring a nonperishable food item with them as a donation.

Of the three meditation centers I’ve visited, I liked Hastinapura the best. The setting is very relaxing and cozy. It feels like a place that is perfect for meditation. The people are friendly and I wish I had the time to continue going and to be able to get to know them better. I love that it’s so close to the place I’ve been staying – the walk there is just the perfect amount of time to unwind and prepare to meditate, and the walk back is great to hold on to that sense of calmness just a little bit longer. I wish I could bring this place along with me on all my travels so that I could always have a quiet place to reset and regain some calmness.

Rio de la Plata, Buenos Aires

3 Places for Group Meditation in Buenos Aires

Although I am sure that there are many more centers throughout the city, the following are the three meditation centers that I’ve visited while in Buenos Aires. Each place has a different vibe and a different experience to offer its participants.

Fundación Hastinapura: Avenida Corrientes 4608, CABA
Tuesday & Thursday @ 6:00 PM

Offers guided meditations focused on mantras. Bring a nonperishable item such as boxed milk, rice, or pasta as a donation. The foundation also offers other activities for a fee such as yoga classes, violin classes, and other cultural activities. The monthly schedule is posted online and can be filtered by activity and location (there are multiple Hastinapura locations throughout the city). http://www.hastinapura.org.ar/actcul/index1.html#.XQazfrxKjHo

Fundación Hampatu (Microcenter): Florida 835, 3rd Floor, CABA
Monday @ 6:15 PM

Different kinds of meditation methods are explored each week. Sessions are geared towards beginners with more emphasis on guided meditation than silent meditation. The sessions are led by a genuinely kind and peaceful woman whose welcoming personality keeps people coming back week after week. She loves talking about meditation and encouraging people in their practice and she has a wonderfully positive personality. The small room can sometimes get packed depending on attendance. There is also a session on Friday mornings which is led by a different instructor. Information on both classes is available online. Participation is the meditation sessions is free.

http://www.fundacionhampatu.org/practicas-de-meditacion-respiracion_fundacion-hampatu_cursos-14968356883817260.htm

Centro de Meditación Kadampa: Serrano 1316, CABA
Weekdays 5:00 PM & 5:30 PM

Daily meditation meetings every weekday at 5:00 and 5:30. Each session last 15 minutes and there is a 15 minute break between. Emphasis is placed on the Buddhist teachings of their particular lineage from Gueshe Kelsang Gyatso. Sessions are geared towards getting beginners interested in starting a meditation practice and the focus is on the specific teachings of their master. Volunteers take turns guiding the sessions each day, and everyone there is incredibly nice, friendly, and welcoming. Sessions are generally only attended by 2-3 people. Participation is free. The center also offers many other activities including sessions of singing prayers, classes of meditation instruction, and monthly dinners/breakfasts. The meditation schedule for this location, as well as their other locations is online.

http://meditarenargentina.org/clases-de-meditacion-general/

5 Replies to “Group Meditation in Buenos Aires”

  1. I just started taking yoga classes again, after a few years of not being able to find one that holds my interest…There are a variety of classes that are based on meditation and slow release and at my age, it feels really good to be able to stretch and see the results lasting well beyond the classes…your classes sound fabulous…keeping posting your trip, enjoy reading all your blogs, love you, Aunt Janet

    1. Glad you have found some classes you like. I think yoga and meditation can be really helpful for everyone. I miss doing more active yoga classes but meditation is really great as well. As always, thanks for reading!

  2. I am so happy for you to be traveling like this Amy! What a great idea to write about it this way. I didn’t know you practiced meditation as well. It’s one of those things I keep saying I would like to explore, as well as yoga. Thank you for giving more personal inight into it. I have recently started acupuncture though, which was also on my list. I like it. Who knew being stuck with a needle could be relaxing?!

  3. Hi Kim! Thanks for reading! I always highly recommend meditation to anyone who is open to giving it a chance. It’s crazy how as humans in modern society we never take the time to just stop and do nothing, yet it’s totally worth it! Yoga is great too – I have never felt as good as when I was taking yoga classes several times a week. I’m glad that you’ve found something you like in acupuncture. I guess you never really know what will work for you until you try it!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started